California & Nevada Tribal Transportation Training & Technical Assistance Program

TTAP Programs Serving Indian Country


The Tribal Technical Assistance Program (TTAP) is a training and technology transfer resource for Native American tribes in the United States. The program is funded by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), both of which are agencies of the U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI).

TTAP CENTERS ESTABLISHED TO ASSIST TRIBAL NATIONS WITH TRANSPORTATION NEEDS In 1993, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) recognized a need to expand the Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP) to serve tribal nations. LTAP centers were originally established by the FHWA in 1982 to enable local government units to improve their transportation networks.

In the same way that the local LTAP centers assist state, county, and city governments, the Tribal Technical Assistance Program (TTAP) centers provide information about the latest technological ideas and improvements related to road and bridge maintenance, repair, construction, and other issues.


TTAP Program Serving Tribes in the Following States:
Alaska TTAP Alaska
Western TTAP California, Nevada
Mountain West TTAP

Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah

Eastern TTAP Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin
National Local Technical Assistance Program Association (NLTAPA) This Association represents 58 Local Technical Assistance and Tribal Technical Assistance Programs across the United States and in Puerto Rico.
Northern Plains TTAP Eastern Montana, Northern Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming
Northwest TTAP Idaho, Oregon, Washington, Western Montana
Southern Plains TTAP Kansas, Southern Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas